tracing website hits ❃ Om of The Airship Pages ❃
Now Playing Tracks

ozonebabys-temple:

Midnight Dream Princess 

Cats are very sensitive as cat owners know. While it may or may not be true that black cats are in danger of suffering cruelty around Halloween, the best thing to do for kitties and all other pets is to keep them indoors. The human costumes are frightening, and getting dressed up can be stressful, so let them rest easy at home on Oct 31st. Better yet always keep your little furry ones inside at all times..much safer dealing with unexpected human behavior out o the streets… 

ledzeppelin-the-airshippages:

John Paul Jones~ Style

Organ was originally my favourite love,” he said, adding wryly, “but for session playing, I found it much easier to carry a bass guitar to work than a Hammond organ. So there I was living with all I had—a guitar, a Hammond organ, and a table and bed in my room in London.

"As a bass player, I wasn’t influenced by a lot of people because it was only in the mid- to late-1960s that you could even hear the bass properly on records. I had a number of obvious jazz influences—most of the good jazz bass player influenced me in one way or another…Charlie Mingus, Ray Brown, Scott LeFaro. I even got into jazz organ for a while until I couldn’t stand the musicians any more and I had to get back to rock and roll."

"I’ve got to own up. The first record that really turned me on to rock bass guitar was "You Can’t Sit Down" by Phil Upchurch which has an incredible bass solo and was a really good record as well. It was very simple musically but the record had an incredible amount of balls."


John Paul arranged the outstanding single “She’s a Rainbow” for the Rolling Stones and also worked on several tracks on the Their Satanic Majesties Request album. :)

Sources: Yorke, Ritchie. Led Zeppelin: The Definitive Biography. Novato, California: Underwood-Miller, 1993.

ledzeppelin-the-airshippages

ledzeppelin-the-airshippages:

 

(original)reblog

Newport Jazz Festival 1969

In 1969 the Newport Jazz Festival included several “jazz-rock” groups that the organizer, George Wein, invited on the recommendation of advisors hip to the new wave of sounds in the late sixties.

He thought he needed to have some of this to keep up with music trends. Well it turned out to be a rock festival, with all that goes along with it, i.e. drugs, nudity, and assorted hippiedom. There were also traditional jazz performers mixed in with the rock groups. Many of the blue blooded rich of Newport were near the front rows and they were mortified by the blasting volume and antics of the rock bands. The local newspaper had photos of these people and their facial reactions to the proceedings.

It was great! Some of the rock performers were Led Zeppelin, Jeff Beck, Ten Years After, Johnny Winter, Frank Zappa, Sly and the Family Stone, and Jethro Tull. Friday night was billed as “Jazz-Rock” night and had the bulk of these bands then. However, Led Zeppelin played as the last band on the last night of the festival, Sunday. As the festival was about to begin on Thursday, the townspeople and the police began to take notice of the undesirable element (hippies) invading the small town of Newport, Rhode Island. People had no place to stay so they ended up camping on lawns, in parks, and on the beach. During the shows people surged the stage and many outside of the festival grounds snuck in through the fence.

It was seen as a riot and George Wein freaked out. He made an announcement that Led Zeppelin would not be performing. He was trying to get the masses of hippies to leave and restore normality.

As Led Zeppelin were coming into town in a limo they noticed all these cars leaving. They were wondering why?

Well, Peter Grant (their manager) found out about George Wein making his announcement of an Led Zeppelin no-show and gave George Wein a piece of his mind and said they were gonna play! Since festival goers had heard about the no-show many had left by the time Led Zeppelin came on. It seemed to be about midnight when they took the stage. Opening with Train Kept a Rollin’ that electrified the few that had stayed, the place appeared to be less than half full. Robert Plant said over the loudspeakers that he heard there were rumors of their non-appearance but assured the crowd they never intended not to play. Drawing mostly from their first album they played about an hour.


ledzeppelin-the-airshippages

about: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newport_Jazz_Festival

rawcuriosity:

The Who Announce 50th Anniversary North American Tour:

2015 TOUR DATES – LEG ONE

Wed, April 15 Tampa, FL at Amalie Arena
Fri, April 17 Miami, FL at American Airlines Arena
Sun, April 19 Jacksonville, FL at Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena
Tue, April 21 Raleigh, NC at PNC Arena
Thu, April 23 Duluth, GA at The Arena at Gwinnett Center
Mon, April 27 Austin, TX at Frank Erwin Center
Wed, April 29 Houston, TX at Toyota Center
Sat, May 2 Dallas, TX at American Airlines Center
Tue, May 5 Kansas City, MO at Sprint Center
Thu, May 7 St. Louis, MO at Scottrade Center
Sat, May 9 Louisville, KY KFC Yum! Arena
Mon, May 11 Nashville, TN at Bridgestone Arena
Wed, May 13 Chicago, IL at Allstate Arena
Fri, May 15 Columbus, OH at Nationwide Arena
Sun, May 17 Philadelphia, PA at Wells Fargo Center
Wed, May 20 Uniondale, NY at Nassau Coliseum
Fri, May 22 Atlantic City, NJ at Boardwalk Hall
Sun, May 24 Uncasville, CT at Mohegan Sun Arena
Tue, May 26 Brooklyn, NY at Barclays Center
Sat, May 30 Forest Hills, NY at Forest Hills Stadium

2015 TOUR DATES – LEG TWO

Mon, September 14 San Diego, CA at Valley View Casino Center
Wed, September 16 Anaheim, CA at Honda Center
Sat, September 19 Las Vegas, NV at Colosseum at Caesars Palace
Mon, September 21 Los Angeles, CA at STAPLES Center
Wed, September 23 Oakland, CA at Oracle Arena
Fri, September 25 Portland, OR at Moda Center
Sun, September 27 Seattle, WA at KeyArena
Tue, September 29 Vancouver, BC at Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena
Thu, October 1 Calgary, AB at Scotiabank Saddledome
Sat, October 3 Edmonton, AB at Rexall Place
Tue, October 6 Saskatoon, SK at SaskTel Centre
Thu, October 8 Winnipeg, MB at MTS Centre
Sat, October 10 Minneapolis, MN at Target Center
Tue, October 13 Milwaukee, WI at BMO Harris Bradley Center
Thu, October 15 Chicago, IL at United Center
Sat, October 17 Detroit, MI at Joe Louis Arena
Mon, October 19 Toronto, ON at Air Canada Centre
Wed, October 21 Toronto, ON at Air Canada Centre
Fri, October 23 Pittsburgh, PA at CONSOL Energy Center
Sun, October 25 Newark, NJ at Prudential Center
Tue, October 27 New York, NY at Madison Square Garden
Thu, October 29 Boston, MA at TD Garden
Sun, November 1 Washington, DC at Verizon Center
Wed, November 4 Philadelphia, PA at Wells Fargo Center

To Tumblr, Love Pixel Union